Uncategorized

8.8.18. That’s a lot of EIGHTS! (Long overdue update.)

Hey! Remember that time last month I promised an actual weekly check-in?

Yeah, I pretty much don’t, either. It was a while ago.

Here it is:

I’ve been hovering between 248 and 250 for weeks now. When I started the elimination diet, I lost weight at the alarming rate of a pound and a half a day… for a bit. And then it settled. And here I stay. Which is fine, because a pound and a half every day means that I would straight up disappear before I turn 37.

I’m learning to eat. I’ve added in enough food that I can sorta manage normal food with my family. I’m still avoiding wheat and dairy. I haven’t formally introduced either, but I’ve cheated with them, and that usually goes poorly. There are lots of foods (soy, eggs, nightshades, grains) that I’m minimizing. But overall, I seem to be doing okay. I introduced coffee last week after a month, and that was MAGICAL. (It’s still a treat, not an everyday thing.)

I’m getting strong again. I joined an online fitness site called Fit2b on the recommendation of a friend. Its primarily focused on providing safe exercises for women who have diastasis recti (usually from pregnancy), which I’ve never had to deal with, but the approach to fitness is basically, “we want your muscles strong and safe.” they hit lots of muscles that don’t usually get a lot of attention because they don’t burn a lot of calories. there are 200+ workouts for various fitness and recovery levels, targeting different muscles. It’s been super helpful. I usually do two workouts a day (the Fit2b routines are 10-20 minutes, generally, so I do two of those or one plus a run or yoga).

I’m still sleeping a lot. I’m functioning well on 8-9 hours of sleep, which is a number I can live with. I can’t handle my life on 4-5 like I used to do regularly, but I’m okay with it. That kind of nonsense is what knocked me down.

Hydration is happening. Mostly because of the diet. The doctor recommends I drink the number of pounds I weigh, divided by two, in ounces. Which turns out to be a gallon or so. And, because I’m a compliant patient, I do. Usually.

Standard

One thought on “8.8.18. That’s a lot of EIGHTS! (Long overdue update.)

  1. Pingback: *ahem* two months later on the “daily” blog… | going to health in a handbasket

Leave a comment